CUA Grad featured in Washington Post piece

August 12, 2011

The Washington Post carries profiles from three young attorneys who are making it in today’s economy. One of the featured attorneys, Laila Leigh, graduated from Catholic University Law and now works with the Maryland Legal Aid Bureau. She offers this advice to aspiring public interest lawyers (with which I can’t more strongly agree):  “A lot of law students think, ‘I have to be in law review, I have to be in moot court.’ I just stayed focused on what I wanted to do and selected internships and opportunities that would put me in a position to do what I wanted to do when I was done.”  In spite of the bad job market, there are public interest jobs out there, and they’re going to go to those law grads who have immersed themselves in the work and developed the best professional networks in the communities they wish to work in.

Leave a Reply

